Thursday, May 31, 2007

Seperate, and most certainly not equal.

Oregon is taking one small step forward for the LGBT community in allowing domestic partnerships, however; we unfortunately live in a world where not all contracts are created equally. Viewed from a stricktly legal position, marriege is just that, a legally binding contract between two adults (unfortunately a man and a woman). However; because the 'state of marriege' is supposedly sacred, it seems that those who have given our hearts to another cannot gain the same legal protections. Even in Mass. the one state the actually allow gay marriege federal law overrides some of the vital protections. Not to say that I will not be rushing to the courthouse with every one else, simply that I do not believe this fight is over. Until the United States government recognizes that church and state are seperate and our marriege is like all marriege essentially a contract to be upheld in ALL states, much as a drivers lisence or current marriege lisence is the fight will continue.

This remenicient of the fight for womens rights and black's rights to anyone else? It's a sad world we live in when the United States a country founded on the right of religious and personal freedom states that we cannot be free because we do not love the same way they do. In a country where divorce rates among heterosexual couples has been high since long before the thought of gay marriege came up, how they can say we are a threat I'm not sure I will ever understand. Take necessary protections, but do not give up the fight for equality. WE are American citizens just like all the hetero couples out there. Do not however fail to take the opportunity being presented to us, it may be all we get for a while and it may at least cover some of the problems in the interim, we are going to be in a long hard fight and we need to take every victory (no matter how small) very seriously.

Wednesday, May 30, 2007

Helpful Ranting

Wow, you would think as a writer I would understand how much writing helps, but even I was surprised when simply writing about my momentary resentment made any lingering particles of resentment disappear like so much smoke before a wind storm. Personally I think I am rather lucky. I work 40 hours a week, unlike most people who work 40 hours a week in addition to grocery shopping, laundry, cleaning house, walking the dog, etc...etc...etc. 40 hours a week, gets me a full weeks check, a clean house, ususally (when either of us thinks about it) laundry that is caught up and kept that way, pets that are cared for when I can't be there, dinner on the table, usually promptly when I get home from work. Even still occassionally I get overrun by petty resentment, good to know I can write it away.

The darker side of human nature...

And no, I'm not talking about the wild, passionate side that courts danger. I'm talking about the jealous angry child in all of us. Who unprovoked and unexpectedly rears it's ugly head when it's least expected. Today of all days I should have had absolutely no reason for the minor flash of resentment that came when I realized that my husband had a little cleaning to do on the house before he would be free to play games the rest of the day while I worked. Thankfully the disgusting feeling didn't last long and was as it should be instantly replaced by guilt. There is no reason I should resent him for his place, I like my job and he is where he is supposed to be, where I promised him years ago I would try to get him.

I cannot help but wonder though if this is why despite the fact that I try really hard not to be a lazy slob on weekends I find myself unable to lift a hand to help around the house. That too pisses me off. So he doesn't work 8 hours a day 5 days a week, he does a pretty good job keeping the house clean and as time goes by he'll likely get to the point where he is not only keeping the house spotless, he's getting all the laundry done...(well all of ours anyway,) and making lunch for me to take to work before I've even gotten home. I have to wonder though if I just woke up on thw wrong side of the bed this morning, because most days he's exactly where I want him. Today however; was the juvenile resentment that once he was done with his few chores he got to just do whatever. Ah well, that particular emotion is beaten again. As it should be. If it ever gets to the point where I'm having trouble forcing it back down THEN I'll talk to him about a part time job. Besides it will likely all get better when we get our puppies, because then his job will not only be to keep the house clean, the laundry done, and have dinner ready when I got home it would also be to work with both the puppies on housebreaking.

Sometimes I hate being human. Sometimes I hate having feelings, if I didn't have them I wouldn't have to fight like I did today. Short fight or not it should have been completely unnecessary. *sighs* Ah well, battle won. Me one, inner bitch zero.

Tuesday, May 29, 2007

The return to normalcy

Alright, I pretty much didn't post all weekend, but I got a little busy doing other things. This post is likely to be really short, but it's the end of my work day and I wanted to get a post in before going home, because there is absolutely no way I'll post once I get home. Hey at least I admit my flaws right? The weekend was wonderful. Three days of doing pretty much nothing. Kota and I went to the movies and then Kota, Kiro and I went to dinner. Then we spent the entire next day playing LC. LC is an evilly addicting MMORPG. On monday we LCed and played a game of monopoly. All in all a wonderful weekend. Not to mention the fact that it's already Tuesday so this week's going to go by quickly. Today went well, I had just enough work to do to last most the night without either leaving me with absolutely nothing to do or keeping me so busy I was sweating. That makes it a good day around here. Tonight I return home to try out a new MMO that Kota found, it will give us a bit of a change of pace, I'm looking forward to it. Unfortunately however; I need to get back to work (I have a few more small things that need to be done before I go help the other projects get ready to leave.) Have a good night everyone and I hope to write tomorrow. For now I'll just keep my posting goal small, one post for each work day. Wish me luck on that one...I'm not real good at remembering to post.

Saturday, May 26, 2007

Welcome to my Den

So, you found me, despite the fog and the underbrush, despite the snow, rain and blistering sunshine. In that case welcome weary traveler to my den. I apologize now if the pups nip, they just think you're here to bring them dinner. So what's a wolf like me doing in a place like this you ask? Well, it's quite simple really this is and always has been home. A dark, distant place that others find difficult to find and even more difficult to remain in. My name is Ravyn and I quite simply am a black and silver wolf.

Now for the rest of you who have actually treaded internet stagnation to find me out here on my own lonely island I am a 23 year old mother of four with a wonderful husband and a great little pack. I work in engineering...well kind of...I'm that grunt that they send to do the monkey work, but boy do I love my monkey work. I live in Oregon and quite enjoy my burgeoning home life. Now that I'm actually working to live instead of living to work. I'd greatly suggest that some of you 9-5ers try it. What are my children like you ask? Well, they are voracious vegetarians who spurn change and any drinks other than water. They have a tenancy to chase one another around like beings possessed and they have this thing with jumping. They tend to chatter constantly and when they want something boy do I know it. Sound undisciplined and unruly...very likely, they are guinea pigs after all and discipline and structure don't matter a lick to them. My husband however; is a bit more normal. I work, he stays at home and keeps the house clean. Unusual yes, but it works well for us. Now you know about me...please traveler, tell me a bit about you.